top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTalia Lego

ICU Nurse Starter Kit


I was an ICU nurse for about 2 years and learned so many things about this type of nursing and the typical people that choose to take the critical care route when it comes to their career. I thought it would be fun to summarize (in my opinion) qualities that typical ICU nurses have and come up with a starter kit for them. This is something fun to do and I figured I could provide some products and things that I have used in my profession to share!


ICU nurses have a wide range of qualities and skills that make them effective in their demanding and vital role. Being an ICU nurse is an extremely challenging role mentally, physically, and emotionally and I have full respect for those who have chosen this path and stayed on this path. When I was in ICU it was peak covid-19 and I felt the weight of the world on my shoulders every shift I would work. I was so anxious and learned that critical care nursing was not the role for me.


Here are some of the qualities that ICU nurses that I have met in my career possess:
  1. Medical knowledge: as an ICU RN you need to use your “medical brain” as I call it on a daily basis. This includes anatomy, physiology, pharmacology, and disease processes. They need this knowledge to understand and respond to the complex conditions they encounter on a shift.

  2. Critical thinking: ICU nurses must think quickly and critically to assess patients' conditions, interpret vital signs and lab results, and make timely decisions about interventions and treatments. The nurse is the first responder to the patient in the hospital and the RN is the one who has to make the call to notify the MD about certain situations.

  3. Composure under pressure: ICU nurses work in high-stress environments dealing with life-threatening situations. They need to remain calm and composed to make rational decisions and provide the best possible care.

  4. Attention to detail: In the ICU, even minor changes in a patient's condition can be significant. Nurses need to be observant and detail-oriented to catch subtle signs of improvement or deterioration.

  5. Resilience: Working in the ICU can be emotionally and physically challenging. ICU nurses need to be resilient to cope with difficult situations and maintain their well-being.

What are the ICU nurses wearing?

figs scrubs, hoka tennis shoes


Figs. Joggers, Hoka's, oh my! They have their apple watch band matching the ties on their Hoka's. Their Simple Modern tumbler matches the pens they use to chart. These Nurses have structure and composure even with a tanking patient.



What are the ICU nurses carrying?

dagne dover back, littman stethoscope

Stethoscope Littman of course in their Dagne Dover Backpack





What are the ICU nurses drinking and eating?

chamberlain coffee tumbler, thrive market logo, simple modern cup, chamberlain coffee bag

Coffee, typically black, because it’s quick to pour and gives them the caffeine that they need to get through a shift. ICU nurses also cherish their health- they want to avoid preservatives and fillers as much as they can. Because of the patient population they have they want to do as much prevention as possible to not end up like some of their sick patients! ICU nurses shop on thrive market so get the healthiest foods at the lowest costs for their lunches.


Comments


bottom of page