top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTalia Lego

Travel Tips & Tricks



This past weekend my boyfriend and I traveled to Chicago for a wedding. I have had my fair share of travel weekends as I’ve gotten older and I figured I could share some of my hacks and products that I use to make traveling as seamless as possible.


Travel Credit Card:

The credit card that I use is the American Express Delta SkyMiles Card.

American Express Delta SkyMiles Cards

I highly recommend picking an airline and sticking with it as much as possible and join their rewards program or get their credit card. I pretty much put all of my expenses on my credit card, therefore I can fly most places using my miles and usually only end up paying $12 for processing fees. With the American Express Delta SkyMiles Card you also get a free check bag with each flight and that makes it super easy to travel! Every dollar amount you spend goes towards a certain allotted mile value so if you travel often, you get your flights for cheap!


Luggage Set:

Invest in a good set of luggage, I have a larger check bag and a carry on size that works with most airlines.

Delsey Paris white and brown carry on luggage

I also think it is a good idea to have either a tote bag or a good size backpack as your personal item! I’ve linked some of my favorites that I use and recommend! It’s also smart to get a luggage tag that is brightly colored so you can easily spot your luggage at the baggage claim or if it is to ever get lost! I also am a big fan of packing cubes for my clothing, shoes, dirty clothing etc. Packing cubes are great because you can separate your outfits, dirty clothes from clean clothes , etc so it makes unpacking easy as well! This trip my boyfriend and I actually split a checked bag (we flew United and had to pay $35 for a check bag one way) . We figured we would just split the cost and each have a personal item instead to save some $. I loved my packing cubes so I could separate my stuff from his and stayed organized this way.


Travel Sized Toiletries:

I usually have more peace of mind if I have my makeup and toiletries in my carry-on so that if I need to freshen up or if my luggage were to become misplaced I would still have these essentials. I have a travel toiletry bag that I always just keep my travel sized items in under my sink and that is the bag I will always reach for when I am going to fly.

black toiletry hanging kit

The kit that I have has room for all of my bathroom essentials and also room in the same bag for my makeup and brushes. It has a hook that can hang on the door for easy access and I absolutely love it! If you stay organized when you are unpacking (like keeping all of your travel items together) it also makes packing a breeze!



Airport Outfit:

I always wear my sneakers on the flight because they take up more room in a suitcase, I also usually wear comfortable clothing and bring a sweatshirt. Airplane air is stale and although they claim to “clean between flights” I usually have a designated airport outfit for arrivals and departures. I also always shower immediately when I get home and change out of my airport clothing and get into pajamas instantly!


Other Hacks:

I love to do a deep clean of my apartment the day before I leave, make sure all laundry is complete, vacuum, dishes, fresh sheets, etc. That way when you are home you can quickly unpack and relax. A day on a plane and traveling is always exhausting! I also try to have a meal in the fridge so I can heat up that night and not have to worry about any grocery shopping that day either!


Set yourself up for success when it comes to traveling and it will soon become stress free. Make good habits when you are traveling so you don’t feel like you are off your game when you get home!


Xo Talia


Comments


bottom of page